Friday, December 18, 2015

Random Acts of Scrooge by: Christy Barritt

Christmas is supposed to be the most wonderful time of the year, but a real-life Scrooge is threatening to ruin the season’s good will.

Holly Anna Paladin can’t wait to celebrate Christmas with family and friends. She loves everything about the season—celebrating the birth of Jesus, singing carols, and baking Christmas treats, just to name a few. But when a local family needs help, how can she say no?

Holly’s community has come together to help raise funds to save the home of Greg and Babette Sullivan, but a Bah-Humburgler has snatched the canisters of cash. Holly and her boyfriend, police detective Chase Dexter, team up to catch the Christmas crook.

Will they succeed in collecting enough cash to cover the Sullivans’ overdue bills? Or will someone succeed in ruining Christmas for all those involved? 

If you are looking for a good afternoon mystery to read on a cold day look no farther than this Christmas Novella! It is such a fun read and a great addition to the Holly Anna series! Christy will keep you in the edge of your seat and guessing until the end! It's full of humor and mystery and Christmas Spirit! Great job Christy!

Note: I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Thursday, December 10, 2015

More than the Tattooed Mormon by: Al Carraway

Al Fox Carraway has spent the last four years inspiring the world with her story of conversion, redemption, and finding faith. As a blogger, social media personality, and award-winning public speaker, her message has reached millions. This moving biography and up-close account of her life and membership in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes called the "LDS" or "Mormon" church) will show you what it means to truly trust in the Lord.

"Don't go, Al. You won't fit in."

Being baptized and following the Lord has made Al's life harder than it ever was before. She endured criticism from friends and family for becoming a Mormon. She faced harsh judgments from Church members for her appearance. She gave up everything and felt more alone than she ever had in her life. All because she chose God.

Now she shares an up-close look at how trusting God has led her to places she never expected. As a blogger, YouTuber, and award-winning public speaker, her message has reached millions. Sharing her love of the Savior, Al goes beyond her own conversion and encourages readers to choose God above anything else. This uplifting book inspires readers to build a true relationship with the Lord that will bring them real, lasting happiness.

Endorsements for More than the Tattooed Mormon

"Al Fox Carraway is a wonderfully fresh combination of energy, humor, and testimony. At first, you might think this book is all about Al. But the more you read, the more you will find personal motivation to keep going, to keep trying, and to stay close to the Lord through all of life's challenges."
--John Bytheway, author of How Do I Know If I Know?

"Al shares her story with frankness and passion. She fills each chapter with memorable insights and true wisdom. But this book isn't really about Al. It is about God and you! It is about the transformation that is possible for all of us through the Atonement of Jesus Christ."
--Brad Wilcox, professor at Brigham Young University, author of The Continuous Atonement and The Continuous Conversion

"Al takes you on one of the most faith-building journeys you'll ever experience. Al is real. Al is authentic. . . . Al's story will bring you closer to Christ."
--Hank Smith, PhD, bestselling LDS author and speaker, BYU religion instructor


This. Book. Is. Amazing!!!! I am a huge reader. I have read 80 books this year alone! This is the first time I have filled a book with highlights. There was so much that Al said that I wanted to remember. I have been a member of the LDS church my whole life but that doesn’t mean this book still didn’t apply to me. To read about the strength and faith she has had since being baptized is inspiring. So many of us get to points in our lives where we take advantage of the way we have been raised. I can’t say I am one of those people because my Husband is a convert and is currently inactive so I definably view both sides of the fence. He is actually the one that wanted to read this book. I really hope he does because he will see that there are other people out there that think the way he does. This book helped strengthen and lift me up and made me want to be a better example to my husband and my children and everyone around me. It also reiterates how crucial it is that we aren’t judgmental about the people we see daily and especially at church. You don’t know what their story is or how they got to where they are. They could be so AMAZING like Al and just judged because you are scared of the unknown. When we first moved to Utah my husband couldn’t find a job anywhere. At the time he had shaved his head bald because we weren’t used to the hot summers. He has tattoos but they aren’t very visible being on his upper arms. My brother said to my husband, “I know you don’t want to hear this but if you want a job you are going to have to grow hair again.” As soon as he let it grow out he found a job right away. It shouldn’t matter how we look. My husband still has a testimony but he has just allowed himself to be influenced by the world and by being judged at church, that he chooses not to have the gospel in his life right now, and it is so hard to see him missing that light and that happiness that Al talks about and that I feel daily. I highly recommend this book to everyone Member or Not. She really tells you like it is and helps you to see all sides of everything. It is such a great book I will be reading it again over and over. Thanks so much for putting yourself out there and sharing your story with the world Al. This is truly the mission Heavenly Father had for you!

Monday, December 7, 2015

An Unexpected Proposal by: Annette Lyon

AN UNEXPECTED PROPOSAL as part of the Timeless Romance Anthology: Winter Collection:
**Amazon #1 Bestselling *New Release* in Clean Romance
**Amazon Top 10 in Regency Romance
**Amazon Top 5 in Victorian Romance

“Top Pick!” “This anthology is what holiday romance is all about. I can't remember the last book I found so delightful and enjoyable.” –NIGHT OWL REVIEWS

“These six romantic shorts are deliciously crafted… Each short takes the reader on a mini Christmas vacation to the past, its mystical beauty and imaginative romance.” –IND’TALE MAGAZINE, Erin Murdock

“I readily recommend this smorgasbord of treats that are suitable for all ages.” –ROMANCE REVIEWS TODAY

“There is just something magical about cuddling up with a good love story on a winter afternoon… they are charming glimpses into romantic moments of days long past.” –DESERET NEWS, Melissa Demoux

While working at a wood camp in the Logan canyon during the winter of 1880, Caroline Simpson is forced to thwart the aggressive advances of Mr. Butch Larson, and in the process discovers that her long-time friend James has genuine affection for her. But as stubborn as Caroline is, she minimizes the emotions James has awakened in her, and it takes almost losing him to admit her true feelings.

An Unexpected Proposal was introduced in WINTER COLLECTION, the first volume of the bestselling and RONE Award-winning Timeless Romance Anthology series, and is now available as a standalone short.

This was a cute novella about a childhood friendship that blossomed over the years. Sometimes we don't always realize that what we already have is pretty great! I haven't read the rest of the Timeless Anthology this was included in. I plan to look that up and read those ones too. They always put great sets together and this was a good one! Great job Annette as always! 
Note: I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Bride by Request: Historical Western Christian Romance (Brides by Mail Book 2) by Amanda Tru & Cami Wesley

When following God’s Will may keep her from following her heart…

Charlotte Mason believes that it’s God’s will for her to be a mail order bride. But while on her way to meet her groom, her bags and tickets are accidentally switched with wealthy heiress, Adelaide Delaney. With the plans for her life hijacked, Charlotte finds herself forced to play the part of a railroad tycoon’s fiancé.

Unfortunately, the role is a tall order for a simple girl from Georgia. Plagued by hilarious mishaps, Charlotte must unravel the mystery of God’s will and find where she belongs.

In the end, Charlotte must choose whether to follow her heart or her mission to be a mail order bride.

"Bride by Request" is Book 2 in the "Brides by Mail" series.

I really liked this book. It wasn't as witty as the first one but I think that was just because the characters weren't meant to be witty. It did fill in all the gaps the first one lacked in and it was great to get Charlotte's story. I think that way the way they intended them to go. That you need to read both to feel the complete story. This is a fun series of books so far! I think number 3 is going to be very interesting I can't wait! All in all great job ladies once again!

Random Acts of Malice - Holly Anna Book 2 - By: Christy Barritt

When Holly Anna Paladin’s boyfriend, police detective Chase Dexter, says he’s leaving for two weeks and can’t give any details, she wants to trust him. But when she discovers Chase may be involved in some unwise and dangerous pursuits, she’s compelled to intervene.

Holly gets a run for her money as she’s swept into the world of horse racing. The stakes turn deadly when a dead body surfaces and suspicion is cast on Chase. At every turn, more trouble emerges, making Holly question what she holds true about her relationship and her future.

Just when she thinks she’s on the homestretch, a dark horse arises. Holly might lose everything in a nail-biting fight to the finish.

I loved this book! It was full of suspense and I love Holly's sweet innocent nature and how it was tested in so many ways. She was still able to stay true to herself even when in difficult situations. This book will have you guessing until the end! My favorite paragraph of the book, “I wish I had some answers for you. I only know that life’s hard. We all experience that in one way or another eventually. Some people learn that lesson earlier in life, and others not until later. It’s not fair. It’s not easy. It doesn’t make a lot of sense. I guess we really have no choice but to deal with it, though. You know?” This is such a great life lesson for us all. I know it has defiantly been mine. Awesome book Christy! I loved it! 

Note: I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Getting Kole for Christmas: A Young Adult Novella by: Kimberly Krey

Getting Kole for Christmas: A Young Adult Novella by: Kimberly Krey

Kylie’s been crushing on Kole for two years now, but can she get him to see her as more than a friend? For years Kylie has watched her older sisters get asked to every school dance there is. Yet once she’s old enough to go, the invites are in short supply. While getting overlooked has never felt good, it hasn’t really hurt the way it does this year. Because now there’s someone she really wants to go with: Kole Kingston. Kole is charming and funny. Gorgeous and kind. And everything she wants in a guy. Trouble is, he’s also her very best friend. Can Kylie tear herself free from the friend-zone in time to get asked to the dance? Or will she – like so many others – find that a romance between them will never be?

Couldn't sleep and I stayed up late reading this whole book! I loved this YA novella! It was so perfect for teens girls. Totally on the path of the way they think and what they want. I can't wait to share it with my daughter. She's only 12 but she loves a good clean romance! This one is like reading the hallmark movies we love to watch together. All of Kimberly's books are awesome! Great job Kim you did it again!

Power of the Matchmaker

12 novels by 12 bestselling authors

A prequel novella to the POWER OF THE MATCHMAKER Series
Mystical . . . Beautiful . . . Romantic . . .

Read the matchmaker’s story to find out where it all starts . . .

Mae Li has been in love with Chen Zhu for years, and he with her. But when the matchmaker arrives at the Zhu family home, she recommends another village girl for Chen.

Heartbroken, Mae Li watches as Chen does his duty by marrying another. Mae flees her village with the clothes on her back and her only possession—a pearl embedded comb, given to her as a goodbye gift from Chen Zhu.

Upon Mae’s arrival in Shanghai, she quickly learns that she’ll starve within days unless she sells her prized comb or joins a courtesan house. She goes to the Huangpu River and promises the River God that she’ll always be selfless if he will save her from becoming a prostitute . . . Her wish is granted when Ms. Tan, the matchmaker of Shanghai, finds Mae. But Mae must completely change her future and her name if she is to become the next matchmaker.

12 novels by 12 bestselling authors

Released once a month in 2016:

Broken Things to Mend by Karey White (Jan 2016)
Not Always Happenstance by Rachael Anderson (Feb 2016)
If We Were a Movie by Kelly Oram (March 2016)
Love is Come by Heather B. Moore (April 2016)
Four Chambers by Julie Wright (May 2016)
O'er the River Liffey by Heidi Ashworth (June 2016)
Chasing Fireflies by Taylor Dean (July 2016)
Between Earth and Heaven by Michele Paige Holmes (Aug 2016)
How I Met Your Brother by Janette Rallison (Sept 2016)
To Move the World by Regina Sirois (Oct 2016)
King of the Friend Zone by Sheralyn Pratt (Nov 2016)
The Reformer by Jaima Fixsen (Dec 2016) 

I love that the authors put out a prequel book to get you excited and give you the back story of the 12 books that will be coming out in 2016. I really enjoyed reading the story of the matchmaker and of a love lost but not forgotten. I can't wait until these books come out starting Jan 2016 and one a month, with 12 different authors is an awesome deal! This is going to be a really fun set!

Friday, November 20, 2015

The Mariposa Hotel A Tangerine Street Romance by: Julie Wright, Melanie Jacobson and Heather B. Moore

The Mariposa Hotel
A Tangerine Street Romance
(a novel in three parts)

Welcome to Tangerine Street

Tangerine Street is a must-see tourist stop with a colorful mix of one-of-a-kind boutiques, unique restaurants, eclectic museums, quaint bookstores, and exclusive bed-and-breakfasts. The Mariposa Hotel, a new resort, has revitalized Seashell Beach, bringing new life to the sleepy beach town. In the charming gardens of the hotel sits a three-hundred-year-old wishing well transported from Mexico. One toss of the coin, a sincere wish, and lives are changed forever…

Other books in the Tangerine Street Romance series:
The Fortune Café
The Boardwalk Antiques Shop


Ghost of 913
This was such a fun story. I'm kind of a sucker for the stories that don't always line up like a fairy tale. We have to work for our own life stories, so I like it when Authors write that way as well.  Life doesn't always come easy. I loved this story and the bond that Mari and Grant were able to form and the. Way they had to work to have a relationship. Can't wait to read the rest!

Butterfly Kisses
Like Brooke and Ridley my hubs had planned for our first date to just be a weekend fling thing. We are now 18 years and going strong. I truly believe in a friendship and a bond that can be formed in a day and that's what I have and what these 2 have in this story! Loved every single page! 

Dreams Come True
Sometimes it is hard not to judge someone by the things you know about them. It is always important to form an opinion on your own from your own experiences. I feel like that is the moral of this story. I loved the bond they are able to form and for the happily ever after at the end!

All of the Tangerine street books are awesome! If you haven't read the others it is just as good as this one!

Note: I was given in copy of this book by the Authors in exchange for an honest review!

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Autumn Masquerade (Timeless Regency Collection) by Josi S. Kilpack, Donna Hatch, Nancy Campbell Allen

Autumn Masquerade (Timeless Regency Collection) by Josi S. Kilpack, Donna Hatch, Nancy Campbell Allen

**Amazon Top 100 in Regency Romance**
**Amazon Top 50 in Victorian Romance**

From the publisher of the #1 Amazon bestselling A Timeless Romance Anthology series in Clean Romance.

Join three bestselling Regency romance authors, Josi S. Kilpack, Donna Hatch, and Nancy Allen, for three new Regency romance novellas in AUTUMN MASQUERADE.

A MERRY DANCE by Josi S. Kilpack. When Lila overhears her uncle talking about a man coming to look for property in the county, she doesn’t think twice, until her uncle says he hopes Lila will find enough interest to marry the man. How can she marry someone named Mortimer Luthford, not to mention that his advanced age of thirty-three, and especially since she’s already in love with her absent cousin Neville? But when Mortimer arrives, Lila has to try every trick known to women to act not interested in the rather fascinating man, which proves a very difficult façade to maintain.

UNMASKING THE DUKE by Donna Hatch. The last thing Hannah Palmer wants to do is flirt with men in a crowded ballroom, but when her sister throws a Masquerade Ball, Hannah can’t say no to the invitation and takes comfort behind a mask. She dances with a charming masked man, matching him wit for wit. When the glorious evening culminates in a kiss, and the two remove their masks, Hannah is horrified to discover the man she’s been flirting with all night is her most despised neighbor, the Duke of Suttenberg. No matter how charming the duke was at the ball, and how wonderful the kiss, he is the last man she’d ever accept.

WHAT’S IN A NAME by Nancy Campbell Allen. Penelope Timely has a terrible secret. She’s been writing letters to the Duke of Wilmington, pretending to be her ever-proper twin sister, Persephone. Now, the duke has written that he’ll be coming for the Autumn Masquerade Ball and Festival. Penelope will have to continue the charade while the duke is in town in order to protect her sister. The Duke of Wilmington isn’t fooled for a moment, but instead of confessing that he knows about the deception, he finds himself utterly charmed by Penelope and jumps into the game of deception to see how far the twin sisters will take it.

Other Timeless Regency Collections:
A Midwinter Ball (Coming December 2015)
Spring in Hyde Park (Coming March 2016)
Summer House Party (Coming June 2016)
A Country Christmas (Coming October 2016)

A Merry Dance by: Josi S Kilpack
I loved this story. I love that it stuck true to life. Sometimes we think we have life all planned out. We think we know what we want and just how to get it. Then we find out that sometimes it just doesn't go that way. It reminded me of the song "Unanswered Prayers" by Garth Brooks. When a writer can pull in real life experiences and make it entertaining you know they are something pretty great! Awesome job Josi! 

Unmasking the Duke by:Donna Hatch
Everyone has a time when they feel intimidated by life and that they don't fit in. I loved that in this sorry Hannah and Bennett were able to let go and be themselves when they were masked for the party. It goes to show that everyone, in every station of life, has insecurities and when we are able to let go and enjoy ourselves we are always better off! I always love a good happily ever after story!

What's in a Name by: Nancy Campbell Allen
Two of my best friends growing up were identical twins. I don't know that they ever tried pretending to be the other twin. It was always fun to see people who didn't know them really well trying to tell them apart. Each of us is a individual with our own personalities and traits, that's what what makes us all so great! I loved that Henry was never fooled by the name. That he has truly fallen for Penny and 'recognized' her from the very start! What a great ending to this set of books!

The Country Bride: Billionaire Marriage Brokers Book 4 by: Lucy McConnell

The Country Bride: Billionaire Marriage Brokers Book 4 by: Lucy McConnell

Paige Baker is bound and determined to start her own horse training business. While at an auction where she plans to purchase the horse of her dreams, she meets Pamela Jone, a matchmaker for the ultra wealthy, and is suddenly on a whole new path in life. Caught up in a whirlwind of wedding plans, Paige wonders what she can bring to the marriage and if her background as a camp counselor and a rodeo star has really prepared her for marriage to the handsome and aloof Mr. Walker.
Cody Walker has already married and mourned the love of his life—or so he thinks. Left with a daughter, Cody dedicated his life to caring for her but he’s having trouble doing it on his own. A friend hands Cody a BMB business card and before Cody can blink, he’s married to the vibrant Paige Baker. She’s everything he needs and so much more. Can he stay true to his first wife’s memory and care for Paige or will he allow this angel to slip through his fingers and lose the only mother his daughter, Addison, has ever known?

Early on, Pamela Jones realized she had an unusual talent for putting two people together. Over the years, she's turned it into a successful matchmaking service for the ultra wealthy: Billionaire Marriage Brokers. While she specializes in "business" marriages -- paring people off because of their skills, education, or training -- she can spot a potential love match a mile away. When Pamela has a "good feeling" about a bride and groom - a business marriage can become so much more.

The best thing ever is when you pick up a book and can't put it down until you're done! Like all the others in this set, it was one of those! I loved it! It is one of my favorite because it included a loving Father looking out for his daughter! My hubs had a daughter when we met and I have never thought about her as anything other than my own even though her Mother is still in the picture. I love the way this story came together and their instant attraction to one another and their mutual concern for Addison. Love this whole series!!! I am so excited that there are 2 more books coming out soon! I can't wait! If you haven't tried one yet you should! 

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Christmas Kisses is a collection from five bestselling and award-winning authors.

Christmas Kisses is a collection from five bestselling and award-winning authors.
Set in the snowy town of Echo Ridge in upstate New York, these inspirational romances are sure to delight while you sip cocoa by the fire and listen to Christmas carols.

***$.99 November 3 - 7***
Add it to Goodreads

The Candy Counter Heiress by Lucy McConnell Amazon bestselling & award-winning author
Someday Reese Gates will own The Candy Counter at Kenworth's; but someday can't come fast enough when the manager threatens to bring in a national candy provider. Reese secretly takes matters into her own hands hoping to save her parents from additional worry and prove herself capable of running the company. Her deception deepens as she ropes computer guru Andy Edwards into helping her expand the business.  Reese wanted to shake things up, but she wasn't planning on her heart getting caught in the mix by Andy's stolen kisses. If she can hold it together until after Christmas, then she can reveal her successful online company and her feelings for Andy. Unfortunately for Reese, even the best laid plans can melt like chocolate.

Christmas Makeover by Cami Checketts Amazon bestselling author
Chelsea Jamison has been infatuated with Drew Stirling longer than she's loved playing basketball, high-top sneakers, and the Knicks. Unfortunately, all Drew sees is the kid who kicked his trash in the high school free throw contest and not the girl whose heart breaks into a fast dribble when he's near.
Drew makes an unexpected visit home to Echo Ridge and their friendship picks up where they left off as they scheme to make a teenaged boy's Christmas dreams come true. When Chelsea realizes she's fallen for her best friend, she wonders if there is any hope of a relationship with Drew or if she's stuck in buddy-status for life.

Soda Fountain Christmas by Connie E. Sokol Amazon bestselling author
Keira Kenworth has one focus this holiday season: save her father's old-time department store from bankruptcy. She is not focused on Tayton Wells, the tall, dark, and genius marketing guru from downtown New York, hired to make it happen. He is as doubtful that her nostalgic connect-the-town ideas will succeed as she is about his numbers-first plan. However, it's not just their different approaches that cause sparks to fly. Working together on a fast deadline to save the store before Christmas, the unspoken connection between them grows. But will the tough decisions they face drive them back to their separate worlds, or will they lead to the beginning of love?

Hope for Christmas by Rachelle J. Christensen Amazon bestselling & award-winning author
Anika Fletcher hates Christmas--its promises of good tidings and hope for the future are as tinseled as the ornaments on Kenworth's Hope Tree. Despite her feelings, Anika wants to maintain her daughter's faith in the magic of the season and gladly accepts a second job working with the handsome Carlos Rodriguez to restore Kenworth's old fashioned soda fountain. Carlos is no stranger to hard times and slowly shares his life of light and joy with Anika as they work together. Just as her fragile soul begins to feel hope again, an ill-timed act of charity changes everything. Anika isn't sure who she can trust or if hope is worth nurturing--especially at Christmas when it's easy to enjoy a kiss and believe love can last longer than the season.

One Winter Night by Heather Tullis Amazon bestselling author
Jonah Owens thought moving to Echo Ridge to open his art gallery would solve all of his problems. The need to sell his grandma's house adds an unexpected complication. It would be easier if his neighbor didn't have all those farm animals.
Kaya Feidler's family has owned their land for nearly a hundred years--long before the neighbors were there. There's no way she's giving up the animal therapy business she's been struggling to make profitable. She gets a temp job helping Jonah in the gallery. Spending time together is a recipe for romance, but can they overcome their own hangups to be more than friends?

The Candy Counter Heiress by Lucy McConnell
I am becoming a huge fan of Lucy McConnell's books! I loved this story. It was so fun, playful, and festive. What a great way to start out the set of novellas! If you are a big chocolate or Christmas fan then this is definitely one for you!  All of Lucy's books have me hooked from the first page and I don't want to put them down until I'm done.

Christmas Makeover By: Cami Checketts
This story had me bawling like a baby at the end. It was such a sweet story. Chelsea reminded me a lot of me. I've never been one  into dressing up or makeup and all that really girly stuff. And I have always loved basketball. My hubs is like Drew and always has accepted me for who I am and loved me anyway :) I love Cami's books I always feel I can relate to them and she pulls me in. It makes it so great because I feel I can connect so well with the characters. As always Cami great job! 

Hope for Christmas By: Rachelle J. Christensen
Keeping the true meaning of Christmas in check is so important to me. I raised my kids without the belief in Santa to make sure that the true meaning of Christmas is remember every year. I loved this story especially the ending and the lessons learned. I'm reading this mid-October but this was a good story to help me remember to stay focus on what's really important in this upcoming holiday season! This was my favorite line and perfect ending for this story, "God loved her, and He sent her someone at Christmas—the time of the Savior’s birth to open her eyes and give her hope for Christmas."

Soda Fountain Christmas by: Connie E. Sokol 
What a great story about 2 people who realize they can't live apart. I love how Keira and Tayton are always building each other up and helping each other out. That is what great relationships are made of! This was a great addition to this set of books!

One Winter Night by Heather Tullis 
This was another great story. I have read a lot from Heather and always love her stuff. My favorite line from this story was, "Nothing really great, really worthwhile, happens without hard work.” I didn't feel like the one had as many ties into the characters of the other stories and I could even remember the main characters mentioned in the other books but I still loved it and it was a good ending to an awesome set of books by great Authors!

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Under the Mistletoe Collection (A Timeless Romance Anthology Book 14)

Amazon #1 Bestselling series in *New Release* for Clean Romance

Six Award-Winning Authors have contributed new stories to A Timeless Romance Anthology: Under the Mistletoe Collection. Six contemporary novellas, all adding sweet romance to the Christmas season.

In the enchanting novella FORGOTTEN KISSES by Cindy Roland Anderson, costume designer Madison Taylor has no love lost when the male lead playing Sir Lancelot in a TV series is fired. She couldn’t stand working with him anyway. But when she discovers who his replacement is, her heart nearly stops. Caleb Matthews is one of the hottest male actors ever… and not to mention Madison’s former boyfriend. When things got too serious between them, everything fell apart. And now, Madison must play nice or lose her job. She just has to forget all of the reasons she’d fallen for him in the first place.

In THE LAST CHRISTMAS, a sweet romance novella by Annette Lyon, Meredith only has to make it through the Christmas holiday pretending that she and her husband Eric aren’t on the verge of divorce. She doesn’t want to ruin the holiday for her two grown daughters and their boyfriends. But when Eric hurries home after weeks of living in a motel to unpack before their daughters arrive, he starts pressing Meredith with questions about why she filed for divorce. The last thing Meredith wants to do it give Eric a second chance, but it seems that Eric is not willing to let her go without trying to win her back.

In Julie Coulter Bellon’s captivating novella TRUTH OR DARE After a year of recovery, wounded war veteran Jonah Harrison comes home for Christmas. No longer the outgoing high school track star, he just wants to be left alone, away from well-meaning friends and neighbors. But when a blizzard strands him with Cami Jackson—the girl who once knew him best—he can’t hide anything from her, no matter how much he wants to. Cami has a wounded heart of her own, though, and it might take a Christmas miracle for them to find the healing they both long for and the courage to reach for a chance at love.

In the charming novella HOLIDAY BUCKET LIST by Sarah M. Eden, Celeste Lagorio has officially given up on Christmas. A single mother, with her children grown and unable to return for the holiday, Celeste determines to take a break from everything. When her single neighbor and almost-best-friend, Mike Durham, discovers her non-plans, they discuss things they’ve always wanted to do, but never had time. Mike and Celeste put together a friendly competition of checking off the things on their bucket list, all the while drawing closer and discovering they have more in common than they thought.

In CHRISTMAS EVERY DAY, a delightful novella by Heather B. Moore, Monica is on the verge of buying her dream store, but when she tells her boyfriend, he turns it into an embarrassing public argument. Heartbroken, but determined to follow her dream, she goes to her employer’s Christmas party to play Mrs. Claus, only to be paired with someone unexpected. A young Mr. Claus who is the complete opposite of her ex-boyfriend in all the most important ways. Yet, Monica is not sure she can risk opening her heart again.

In Jennifer Griffith’s exciting novella FIRST (AND LAST) CHRISTMAS DATE, pilot Juliet Law has been in a holding pattern, dating the wrong guy, until she gets a holiday shake-up: old flame Tag McClintock e-mails her to ask for second date—after ten years. Their first date, back in high school, had been an unmitigated disaster culminating with Pepto Bismol and the police. Still, Juliet would have gone out with Tag again the next day—and the next—had he asked. So now that he’s finally popping up in her in-box again, Juliet must decide whether to say yes to the date, even if it puts her at risk of another decade of carrying a torch for Tag McClintock. Will their second date be their last? 

Forgotten Kisses by Cindy Roland Anderson
Loved this story. What a great opening to the book. Finding trust in a relationship can be so hard. I love the advice given in this story. Brutal honesty all the time. Yes it will be difficult be definitely worth it! I'm all for second chances too. Sometimes there is just too much there to let things good so easily. 

The Last Christmas by: Annette Lyon
 Every marriage goes through rough patches. Communication it key! What one of you may see as an issue, the other may not see it that way. I'm glad to see that they also gave things a second chance. I know I wouldn't be where I am today without one! Another great story!

Truth or Dare by: Julie Coulter Bellon
I had gotten a sneak peak of this book and couldn't wait to read it! It was so good! I would love to see more to this story about Cami and Jonah someday! I don't have many people I talk to from back in my High School days...but that was a long time ago for me...It would be nice to have more life long friends! I loved that their friendship picked right up where it left off. Loved it Julie! 

Holiday Bucket List by Sarah M. Eden
This novella was so cute! I love the idea of a Holiday bucket list I think I am going to talk my hubs into doing one with me this year! It was great to see 2 people who were such great friends come together. Our spouses are always our best friends anyway! Great addition to the set of stories! 

Christmas Every Day by: Heather B. Moore
Monica is the sweetest girl who drops everything for others. She even loves working in A year round Christmas store. I love that when she does so much for others it finally comes full circle is able to find her Rescuer during hard times. This was such a fun Christmas novella I loved it! Great job Heather!

First (and Last) Christmas Date by: Jennifer Griffith.  
This was a great ending to an awesome set of novellas! Loved this one too. My favorite part was, "Life isn’t about doing things perfectly. It’s about experiencing stuff. Together. The good times are fine. They’re great. But the bad times all go into the mixer of experience and memory, and it polishes them up, like a rock tumbler. They become beautiful.” This is exactly how my marriage and my life go. It was a great lesson for the story! 

If you are looking for a good read definitely get this one I finished it in a day! 

Note: I was asked by the Authors to read this book and give it an honest review but I loved it so much I also bought it on my own!

Bride of Pretense: Historical Western Christian Romance (Brides by Mail Book 1)

To learn more about Amanda Tru and her books visit her blog:

Stealing a groom is not for the faint of heart.... or the hapless Adelaide Delaney!

While on a trip to meet her fiance in an arranged marriage, Adelaide Delaney meets Charlotte, a mail order bride who is on her way to marry a rancher. When their bags, along with their train tickets, are accidentally switched, Addie impulsively takes Charlotte's place.

Simply wanting to avoid the marriage her father has arranged, Addie never imagines the difficulties of being a rancher's wife, leaving a trail of hilarious catastrophes in her wake.

Will there be any truth beneath the pretense? Or will Addie decide that she is a poor substitute for Josh Harding's bride?

I loved this novella. I wish it were a little longer but it was still such a great story. Both Addie and Charlotte are at a point of self discovery and they both end up taking unknown paths in their lives. All the mess that Addie gets herself into cracks me up! Even though she never thought she would take a new path in her life, things really worked out for the best! I can't wait to read Charlotte's story! Another great book Amanda and what fun to write with your sister! Great job! I recommend anything and all that Amanda writes! Start with Baggage claim you'll be an instant fan from the first page!

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Death of the Couch Potato's Wife (Cozy Mysteries Book 1) by: Christy Barritt

Welcome to Boring, Indiana, home to patio cookouts, homeowner dues, carpeted lawns, and neighbors so welcoming they’re dying to meet you — literally.

City slicker turned suburbanite housewife Laura Berry isn’t taking well to life in her new neighborhood. She moved to follow her husband’s dream, and now she can’t tell if she’s clinically depressed or just bored half to death. But Boring becomes anything but when Laura discovers her neighbor Candace Flynn face up on a sofa with her hand buried in a snack bag. With a healthy dose of neighborly suspicion and street smarts, Laura sets out to find Flynn’s killer, but her curiosity becomes desperation when the killer targets Laura.

Someone is determined to stop her from digging deeper into the murder, but Laura is just as determined to figure out who’s behind the death-by-poisoned-pork-rinds.

This was such a fun mystery about a city girl who moves to a small town and her next door neighbor is murdered. She decides that she wants to try to solve the murder. I love Christy's squeaky clean series so it was fun to read another of her mystery books. This one will have you guessing until the end! My favorite line from this book..."I understand that sometimes life takes you in a different direction than you'd planned, and you can either pout about it or make the best of it."As always Christy's books are awesome!

All Hallows' Eve Collection (A Timeless Romance Anthology Book 13)

AUTHORS: Sarah M. Eden, Annette Lyon, Heather B. Moore, Lisa Mangum, Jordan McCollum, Elana Johnson,

Amazon #1 Bestselling series in *New Release* for Clean Romance
**Amazon Top 10 in Gothic Romance**
**Amazon Top 25 in Mystery & Suspense**

Another addition to the popular Timeless Romance Anthology series. ALL HALLOWS' EVE is not to be missed. Romance, thrills & chills. Need we say more?

In Sarah M. Eden’s mysterious novella OF GHOSTS AND GARDENS, if Enid Pryce has one downfall, it’s that she talks to the ghost in her garden, which doesn’t make her too popular among society’s elite. In fact, she returns to her home in Wales after a Season in Bath with not one offer of marriage. Deeming herself a failure at the nearly-spinster age of nineteen, she is pleasantly surprised when an English gentleman shows up in her garden, apparently intent on finding out more about the ghost. Burke Kennard, grandson of an English marquess, quickly becomes utterly charmed by the young Welsh woman, but the ghost in the garden is more likely to push them apart than pull them together.

In Annette Lyon’s enthralling story IT’S YOU, when Charlie and Anna both see the ghost of Nanny Mae, they think they’re losing their minds. Anna tries to find out more about the ghost and uncovers a decades’ old family secret. One that separated two people in love. Now, the ghost of Nanny Mae must set her wrongs to right. As Charlie and Anna explore the past, and the truth of what happened, they discover that the mistakes of the past might lead to love of the future.

In SOPHIA’S CURSE, a suspenseful novella by Heather B. Moore, Joan grows up in an abbey in France, believing that she is an orphan. A chance encounter with the foreboding owner of a neighboring estate, alters everything she’s understood about her parents. She discovers she’s an integral part of changing a decades-old curse, and that her life, as well as the handsome and intriguing Simon Rousseau’s life, are both in danger unless she makes an enormous sacrifice that will change the course of her dreams.

In Lisa Mangum’s haunting story THE SIRENS’ SONG, we meet recently widowed Oliver, the lead physician on a luxury cruise liner traveling to Greece. He hopes that the change of scenery will help ease his grief over his deceased wife, Cate. After falling overboard, though, he is captured by a siren and taken to a mystical island. Through the sirens' song, Oliver is able to relive his memories of Cate—both the good and the bad—as long as he gives away his memories of her. But can he sacrifice his best memory in exchange for one last chance to say good-bye?

In Jordan McCollum’s thrilling novella THE MAN OF HER DREAMS, homicide detective Alexandra Steen dreams about real murders before they happen, seeing the crime through the eyes of the killers. But the dreams never contain enough clues to save the victim before it's too late. Then one dream ends before a murder occurs—in a place she knows. She finds herself racing against time to prevent the deadly act, only to discover that the intended victim is a man she thought she’d never see again. Seven years might have passed since her breakup with Nick, but the years haven’t changed her feelings for him. Now, she must convince Nick that her dreams are real and find a way to prevent his death.

In Elana Johnson’s chilling story THE GHOST OF MILLHOUSE MANSION, Naomi knows her crush on Colt Jennings is unreasonable. When he invites her to his reclusive mansion to restore an old wooden rocking horse, Naomi can’t resist accepting the job. The more time Naomi spends touring his home, the more interested she becomes in Colt. Until she sees a man in the library who vanishes into thin air. She thinks she’s losing her mind until Colt tells her about the ghosts he’s been seeing for years.


Of Ghosts and Gardens: Sarah Eden 
This was such a cute story of a ghost trapped I between worlds and no one has ever tried to figure out why. When Burke comes to town wanting to see the Ghost, he doesn't plan on building such a quick relationship with the family that lives in the house with the Garden where it resides. Enid and Burke finally figure out the Ghost is trying to tell them something and make it their mission to find out what. It was a great story with a happy ending! 

It's You: Annette Lyon 
This was an interesting twist on why a ghost would remain in between worlds. It was a great story though and I liked the instant friendship that Charlie and Anna formed. Sophia's Curse by: Heather B. Moore This novella was full of surprises. Two families suffering from a curse on All Hallow's Eve with no obvious end in sight. Usually a crush from afar stays just that. Not in this case....I liked it. It was a great addition to the set! 

The Sirens' Song by Lisa Mangum 
Wow this novella was so different from anything I have read. It was definitely an interesting one with lots of twists. I don't want to give up too much of the story but I was happy with the ending and that he didn't lose what what most important to him. All in all it was a good story! 

The Man of Her Dreams by Jordan McCullum 
Life thru the eyes of murderers, that is some creepy stuff. A dream Alex has leads her to her long lost love. Can they give it a second chance, even with possible murderer in the way? This was a fun story even if that thought creeps me out lol 

The Ghost of Millhouse Mansion by: Elana Johnson
I loved the twists in this story. Not what I expected at all. I thought this was a great ending to this set of novellas. A historical mansion haunted by those gone before. I think this one was probably my favorite of the set. A must read!

All in all this was a fun set to read with Halloween approaching!

NOTE: I was given this book by the Authors in exchange for an honest review!

Monday, September 7, 2015

Mending Hearts by: Kimberly Krey

** ATTENTION** TO CELEBRATE THE RELEASE OF MENDING HEARTS, ROUGH EDGES (book 1 of the Second Chances series) IS JUST .99 cents FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY (regularly 3.49)

*Though Mending Hearts is part of a series, this book, like each of Kimberly Krey's novels, stands alone.

A couple on the verge of divorce decides to give their marriage one last try. But will they be able to get past the issues holding them back?

"A heart-warming romance," Jamie Brook Thompson

Candice is through with married life and all it entailed:
infertility, an adoption gone wrong, and the death of
her husband's twin brother. Now that they've been
separated for nearly a year, Candice is finally ready
to set Logan free. But when he steps back into her life,
Candice begins to have second thoughts. Even
though she hasn't fully healed from the heartache
she endured over their married years, she can't
fathom the thought of losing him a second time.

Can Candice let go of past hurts and give Logan a
second chance, or will her fears keep them apart?

Logan has spent the months of separation giving
Candice the space she needed. But when he
discovers that Candice is about to file for a divorce,
he decides he better take action quick. He didn't spend
the best years of his life with this woman, only to let her
slip away. Yet just when the opportunity comes
again - his chance to finally make things right -
an entirely new force threatens to tear them apart.
Will opposition keep the heart-broken couple from
getting back together or will they have the strength
to break through the barriers, no matter
what their future might bring?


I love this second chance series. Sometimes there are things worth fighting for. Candice and Logan had a rough time in their 10 year marriage. They got caught up in trying to have a baby and they forgot that keeping their relationship with each other is just as important as one you would want with your child. Even if you don’t have a struggling marriage it is important to remember to be there for each other. You should always keep the lines of communication open. You should not be afraid to share your feelings with one another. That is everything that this book covers. I love the way Kimberly has them build their relationship and trust back up with each other. She is able to write about romantic moments without smut  and  when she is writing a love scene she does it tastefully. I love all of Kimberly’s book and can’t wait for the next one!

Note: I was given an advanced copy of this book by the Author, in exchange for an honest review.